TEMPORARY STORE HOURS:
MONDAY-SATURDAY 7am-7pm (60+ Shopping Hour 7am-8am)
SUNDAY 8am-6pm (60+ Shopping Hour 8am-9am)
South Amherst Ice Cream Window Open Mon.-Sat. noon-7pm * Sunday noon-6pm

Gluten Free Foods

Atkins Farms carries many well known brands of Gluten Free products.
Our Gluten Free selection includes items from the following companies:
O’Dough’s
Izzy’s
Udi’s
Maine Pie Co.
Nantucket Pasta Goddess
Against the Grain
Blake’s
Raised Gluten Free
Blue Diamond
Annie’s
Amy’s
Kinnikinnick
Ian’s
La Fabbrica
Mary’s Gone
Aleia’s
King Arthur
Bob’s Red Mill
Wasa
Made Good
From the Ground Up
Glutino
Free for All
Gratify
Tate’s
Goodie Girl


What is Celiac Disease?

Gluten is a protein found in all forms of wheat (including durum, semolina, and spelt), rye, oats, barley and related grain hybrids such as triticale and kamut.

When people with celiac disease consume gluten, the absorptive villi in the small intestine are damaged, preventing the absorption of many important nutrients. The long-term effect of untreated celiac disease can be life threatening. However, with a completely gluten-free diet, the intestinal lining will heal completely allowing most patients to live a normal, healthy life as long as they remain free of gluten in their diet. Even a small amount of gluten can cause symptoms to reoccur.

Although the gluten-free diet should be taken seriously, living and eating in the real world requires a sense of humor and a knowledge of both the diet and ingredients.


Stocking A Gluten-Free Pantry

Gluten is hidden in many unsuspecting foods such as licorice, soy sauce, malt vinegar, some flavorings, most processed foods, self-basting turkeys, some cold cuts, and many prepared stocks and soups. Vinegars and alcohols that are properly distilled should not contain any harmful gluten. However, if additives have been added after the distillation process, they may contain gluten. Gluten is also used as a binder in some pharmaceutical products and can be the starch in unidentified food starch, modified food starch, caramel coloring, hydrolyzed plant or vegetable protein. It's also important to avoid products where the ingredients are of questionable origin or are listed as simply "natural flavorings, flavor extracts, or spice extracts" as gluten may be used in processing them.